Board News: A vote of thanks

Members of the Interim Board would like to thank many colleague who have contributed and involved themselves in the development of the Arab Public Health Association. Without their huge efforts and financial support we would not be here today:


Dr Ala Alwan (Iraq/Egypt): Regional Director of WHO EMRO for his vision, leadership and continuous support for the creation of the ArPHA and the development of public health in the region and beyond.

Professor Tawfiq Khoja (KSA/GCC): Director General Executive Board of Health Ministers Council for the GCC, Professor of Public Health, as a Founding executive with financial support and dedicated development time.

Dr Mahmoud Fikri (UAE): Advisor to the Minister of Health, UAE, as a Founding Executive with financial support and dedicated development time.

Professor Salman Rawaf (Iraq/UK): Chair of Public Health Imperial College London and Director of WHO Collaborating Centre, as a Founding Executive with financial support, dedicated development time and hosting the Association during the crucial developmental phase.

Dr Sameer Jabour (Syria/Lebanon): Associate Professor of Public Health Practice (Recently Director of NCD and Mental Health, WHO EMRO), as a Founding Executive with financial support and dedicated development time.

Dr Sondus Hassounah (Egypt/London): Teaching Fellow, WHO Collaborating Centre, School of Public Health, Imperial College London, as a Founding Executive with development time. Sondus kindly agreed to take the formidable task of Interim Registrar for the Organisation during its crucial developmental phase.

Dr David Laith Rawaf (UK): Medical Intern NHS England, for his superb work in developing the Constitution and Standing Order, for registering the organisation, and developing and maintaining the website.

Dr Habiba Ben Romadhane (Tunisia): Professor of Preventive Medicine, Tunis University, as a Founding Member and for her support.

Dr Naeema Al-Qasseer (Bahrain): WHO Representative to Sudan, as a Founding Executive and financial support.

Dr Iman Nuwayhid (Lebanon): Dean of Faculty of Health Science, American University of Beirut, for his support.

Dr Sameen Siddiqi (WHO Egypt): Director Health System Development, WHO EMRO, for his superb support in the development of this organisation and strengthening public health in the Region.

Dr Mohammed Al Thani (Qatar): Director of Public Health, Qatar Supreme Council for Health, as a Founding Executive with dedicated development time.

Professor Hoda Rashad (Cairo): Research Professor & Director, Social Research Centre, American University in Cairo, for her contribution as a founding executive.

Dr Nabil Kurashi (KSA): Professor of Primary Care, Damman University, as a Founding Executive with financial support and dedicated development time.

Professor Azeem Majeed (UK): Head, Department of Primary care and Public Health, Imperial College London for his kind and continuous support.

Miss Ela Augustyniak (UK): WHO Collaborating Centre manager, Imperial College London her superb and had work during the preparation period and beyond including the finical control of the organisation.

Dr. Abdullah T. A. Khoja (KSA): Assistant Professor and Consultant of Family and Community Medicine (MD, MRCGP, MPH, MBA, DMedEd, SBFM, ABFM)

Dr. Mohamed Sayed Hussein Ahmed (Egypt/KSA): Head of Research and Studies Division, Executive Board, Health Ministers’ Council for GCC States. Dr.PH, M.PH (Graduate School of Public Health, Pittsburgh, PA, USA)

Dr. Abdel-Rahman Kamel Al-Habrawi (Egypt/KSA): Head of the Technical Division, Executive Board, Health Ministers’ Council for GCC States. (MBBcH, MSc. Cardiology, TQM, HC Diploma)

Dr. Abdelaziz F. Aldeib (KSA): Professor of Public Health and Community Medicine.

Dr. Abdullah Al-Sherif (KSA): Deputy Minister for Planning, Ministry of Health, Saudi Arabia. MBBcH, diploma in Child Health, Joint MoH & Edinburgh University, Fellowship in Family and Community Medicine, as one of the founding members of the ArPHA.